The 7 Habits and a “Sammich”


I may have posted these in the past, but they are good to revisit from time to time. For some you (you know who you are), a daily revisit perhaps? I kid.

The 7 habits are a tenant of Reality Therapy, which is my go-to therapeutic approach. Contrary to how it sounds, it isn’t about a “dose” of reality or a confrontational kind of thing. It is about personal choice guiding our behaviors: good, bad or indifferent.

 The Seven Deadly Habits are:

  • Criticizing
  • Blaming
  • Complaining
  • Nagging
  • Threatening
  • Punishing
  • Bribing or rewarding to control

The 7 Caring Habits are:

  • Supporting
  • Encouraging
  • Listening
  • Accepting
  • Trusting
  • Respecting
  • Negotiating differences

 Don’t read these like I sometimes do, in one of two ways:

  1. “Boy oh boy, that OTHER person sure does numbers 2, 3 and 7 to me ALL the time, THEY should be ashamed!”
  2. Or, in a moment of insight, say to your self, “That rings a bell, I really DO nag or complain (or whatever else from the deadlies) too much, I am really going to make a change and support and encourage,” and then have a sandwich and forget the whole thing.

It is all about choice; choose to dump the deadlies-even if you are justified when administering them.

It is all about choice; choose to double up on the caring habits and watch how quickly things start to get better. Then you can have a sandwhich.

I love 79 of you, won’t I won’t tell you which…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s